Many Cordovans still do not knowbut on the land that today makes up the hectares of the recently inaugurated, Bustos Park, Chateau Carreras and Kempes Park lie the remains of the tunnels of an old flour mill built between 1869 and 1871.
Beneath the Feriar complex, there is a tunnel dug more than 400 meters in length, parallel to the ravines of the Suquía river. Aqueducts used by the flour mill to supply water, whose ruins today we can explore and visit in the vicinity of the new park in front of Chateau Carreras.
it was gift Adolfo Roque who in 1857 bought the land called “Baja de Ontivero” from his father Juan Roqué. Land that extended through the area of today’s Mario Alberto Kempes stadium.
Later, between ’69 and ’71, Adolfo Roqué built the hydraulic mill, which we see today as ruins near the Suquía River. He used these tunnel systems as ditches to provide himself with water. Finally, the mill goes into operation in 1872.
By 1877, Roqué ended up selling the mill to a company formed by Enrique Gavier and his brother-in-law David Carreras. Carreras himself, who years later would build the mansion we know today as Chateau Carreras.
In the years prior to the construction of Parque Bustos, many concerned organizations and groups demanded the conservation of these ruins and tunnels that were so important for the history of Córdoba. Although these ruins were buried under the ground, after a great recovery and maintenance work, today we can appreciate them if we visit the green space.
You may also like